Margvelashvili Elected President of Georgia

Nov. 1, 2013, 11:04 a.m.

Georgian voters participated in presidential elections on October 27, 2013. With President Mikheil SAAKASHVILI forbidden to run for a third term in office, it would mark the first time in Georgian history that an incumbent was replaced at the ballot box and not through revolt.

The Minister of Education and Science in Georgia, Giorgi MARGVELASHVILI, won the election, receiving 1,012,214 votes (62.11 percent) in the election. MARGVELASHVILI contested the election for Georgian Dream – Democratic Georgia / ქართული ოცნება – დემოკრატიული საქართველო led by Prime Minister Bidzina IVANISHVILI, giving the party control over the Parliament and the presidency. IVANISHVILI has promised to step down as Prime Minister following the election.

The United National Movement / ერთიანი ნაციონალური მოძრაობა nominated David BAKRADZE, former Chairman of the Parliament of Georgia, to contest the election, and he received 354,206 votes (21.73 percent). Nino BURJANADZE, a former acting head of state of Georgia, finished third in the election, receiving 165,933 votes (10.18 percent).

Turnout for the election was 46.96 percent, with 1,661,273 Georgians casting ballots in the election.

comments powered by Disqus