Madagascar Presidential Election 2013

Aug. 23, 2013, midnight

Presidential and parliamentary elections in Madagascar have been rescheduled following numerous delays. The presidential election will occur over two rounds, with the first round scheduled to take place on October 25, 2013, and the second round on December 20, 2013. Elections to the Parliament will be held alongside the second round of the presidential election on December 20, 2013.

Elections have not been held in Madagascar since Andry RAJOELINA assumed the presidency in March 2009, following the resignation of former president Marc RAVALOMANANA. A new constitution was approved by referendum on November 17, 2010, paving the way for fresh elections; however, these have been repeatedly delayed. The Southern African Development Community and the African Union have been working to help move the elections forward, despite the unwillingness of RAJOELINA, former president Didier RATSIRAKA, and Lalao RAVALOMANANA to remove their names from the ballot. On August 17, the High Constitutional Court ruled that 10 candidates had been deemed ineligible, including RAJOELINA, RATSIRAKA, and RAVALOMANANA, paving the way for the agreement over a new election date.

comments powered by Disqus