Zimbabwe Elections 2013

July 31, 2013, midnight

Presidential and parliamentary elections were held in Zimbabwe on July 31. Results released show that President Robert Mugabe of the Zimbabwe African National Union – Patriotic Front (ZANU-PF) winning re-election to a seventh term with 2,110,434 votes (61.09 percent). His primary challenger, Prime Minister Morgan TSVANGIRAI of the Movement for Democratic Change – Tsvangirai (MDC-T), earned 1,172,349 votes (33.94 percent) in the election. Preliminary results from the Parliamentary elections show that MUGABE’s ZANU-PF won an overwhelming majority of 160 seats in the House of Assembly, to the 49 seats won by TSVANGIRAI’s MDC-T. Additionally, 1 seat in the House of Assembly was won by an independent candidate. The results have not been finalized as of yet, as ZANU-PF has requested a recount in two constituencies.

TSVANGIRAI has questioned the results of both elections, stating that over a million valid voters were turned away from the polls, and that the electoral roll contained many invalid names and deceased voters. Western groups were not allowed to send monitors to the elections; however, the Zimbabwe Election Support Network (ZESN), among a number of other civil society organizations, noted that there were a litany of offences including voter intimidation and state media bias, which could impact the results of the election.

comments powered by Disqus