Northern Cyprus Parl 2013

July 28, 2013, midnight

Voters in the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC) cast ballots in early elections on Sunday to elect 50 members to the Assembly of the Republic / Cumhuriyet Meclisi. In the election, there are 5 electoral districts with 10 seats each. Voters can either elect a party list, or vote for 10 individual candidates. The Republican Turkish Party (CTP-BG) / Cumhuriyetçi Türk Partisi Birleşik Güçler, led by Özkan YORGANCIOĞLU, gained the most votes in the election, earning 477,209 votes (38.38 percent), and 21 seats in the Assembly of the Republic. The National Unity Party (UBP) / Ulusal Birlik Partisi, which had a majority in the Assembly of the Republic until 8 members defected to the Democratic Party (DP-UG) / Demokrat Parti Ulusal Güçler, won 14 seats in the election, earning 339,864 total votes (27.33 percent). The DP-UG finished third in the election, winning 288,021 votes (23.16 percent), and will have 12 seats in the new Assembly of the Republic. In the election, 120,287 residents of TRNC (69.61 percent of registered voters) cast their ballots.

comments powered by Disqus