Bhutan National Assembly 2nd Round

July 13, 2013, midnight

Citizens in Bhutan voted in the second round of elections for 47 seats in the National Assembly / Gyelyong Tshogdu. Members are elected in 47 single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms. The election was won by the opposition People’s Democratic Party (PDP), led by Tshering TOBGAY, who won 138,566 votes (54.88 percent), earning 32 seats in the National Assembly / Gyelyong Tshogdu. The Peace and Prosperity Party / Druk Phuensum Tshogpa, led by Prime Minister Jigme THINLEY, who had 45 seats in the 2008 election, lost 30 seats in the election, after receiving 113,927 votes (45.12 percent) in the poll. This marks the second National Assembly / Gyelyong Tshogdu election in Bhutan’s history, and will mark its first democratic transition of power. In the election, 252,493 Bhutanese citizens (66.13 percent) voted.

comments powered by Disqus