Saint Helena Legislative Council 2013

July 17, 2013, midnight

Elections to the Legislative Council of Saint Helena will be held on Wednesday. Voters will elect 12 members to the Legislative Council, for a term of four years. Saint Helena’s election law was changed prior to the election. Previously, members had been elected in 2 multi-member constituencies, with 6 seats each. The new election law will have all candidates stand in a single nationwide constituency. Voters can vote for up to 12 candidates, although any ballot listing more than 12 names will be invalidated. On July 2, 2013, the Returning Officer announced that 20 candidates would stand in the election. For the election, 2,309 Saint Helenians are registered to vote.

comments powered by Disqus