Bhutan National Assembly Second Round

July 13, 2013, midnight

Bhutanese citizens will participate in the second round of voting for 47 seats to the National Assembly / Gyelyong Tshogdu. In the first round of elections, four parties contested a nationwide election. The two parties that gained the most votes in this election advanced to the second round, nominating 47 candidates each to run in single-member districts. In the first round of voting, the Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT), led by Prime Minister Jigme THINLEY, and the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), led by Tshering TOBGAY, gained the most votes. This will be the second election to the National Assembly / Gyelyong Tshogdu in Bhutan’s history. In the first National Assembly / Gyelyong Tshogdu election, the DPT won 45 seats, and the PDP won 2 seats.

comments powered by Disqus