Iran Presidential June 2013

June 14, 2013, midnight

Voters in Iran voted on Friday to elect a new president. President Mahmoud AHMADINAJAD was term limited, leaving voters to vote for one of six candidates, after Gholam-Ali HADDAD-ADEL and Mohammad Reza AREF dropped out during the electoral campaign. Hassan ROUHANI was declared the winner of the election, securing 18,613,329 votes (52.49 percent), clearing the required 50 percent threshold to avoid a runoff.  ROUHANI is a member of the Assembly of Experts, and previously served as Iran’s Chief Nuclear Negotiator and Deputy Speaker of Iran’s Parliament. Finishing second in the election was Mohammad-Bagher GHALIBEF, the mayor of Tehran, who won 6,077,292 votes (17.14 percent). 36,704,156 Iranians (72.71 percent) voted in the election, with 35,458,747 (96.61 percent) casting valid votes, and 1,245,409 (3.39 percent) casting invalid votes. President-elect ROUHANI will officially be inaugurated on August 3, 2013.


comments powered by Disqus