Bhutan Parliamentary May 2013

May 31, 2013, midnight

Bhutanese citizens went to the polls on May 31 to vote in the first round of elections to the National Assembly. In the first round of voting, four parties competed in a nationwide election, with the top 2 parties advancing to run candidates in the second round of voting on July 13. The ruling Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) gained the most votes in the first round, with 93,949 votes (44.52 percent). They will compete against the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in the second round, who earned 68,650 votes (32.53 percent). Two new parties competed in the first round of the elections, although neither advanced to the second round. The Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) received 28,799 votes (13.65 percent), while the Druk Chirwang Tshogpa (DCT) received 12,457 votes. In the first round, 211,018 Bhutanese citizens (55.27 percent) cast their ballots. In the second round of voting, members will be elected by majority vote in 47-single member districts.

comments powered by Disqus