April 7, 2013, midnight

Montenegrins will head to the polls on April 7, 2013 in the first presidential election since the country entered EU accession talks in June 2012. Incumbent President Filip VUJANOVIC of the Democratic Party of Socialists (DPS) is the likely frontrunner, although former coalition member,  the Social Democratic Party of Montenegro (SDP), split with DPS over the decision to nominate VUJANOVIC for a third term. The SDP claims that another VUJANOVIC term is unconstitutional, as Montenegro’s 2007 Constitution states that a president may only serve two terms. The Constitutional Court of Montenegro dismissed this claim in February 2013, arguing that VUJANOVIC first took office when Montenegro was still a part of Serbia, suggesting his first official term as president did not occur until 2008. If elected, 2013-2018 will be his second official term. VUJANOVIC’s main challenger is independent candidate Miodrag LEKIC. LEKIC is supported by the Democratic Front (DF) Bloc and the Socialist People’s Party (SNP).

comments powered by Disqus