Armenia Presidential 2013

Feb. 18, 2013, midnight

Armenians voted in the country’s presidential election, held on February 18, 2013. Incumbent president Serzh SARGASYAN (Republican Party of Armenia, HHK) won the presidency with a majority of 59 percent.� Armenia’s first Foreign Minister Raffi K. HOVHANNISYAN received only 37 percent of the vote, followed by former Prime Minister Hrant BAGRATIAN with 2.15 percent. HOVHANNISYAN, also leader of major opposition group the Heritage Party, rejected the election results citing electoral fraud and requesting SARGASYAN to meet him to personally discuss the situation. This sparked a wave of public demonstrations in protest of the election results. �Armenia’s Central Electoral Commission (CEC) has reported voter turnout of 60 percent (1, 521,931 valid votes out of 2,529,016 eligible voters).

comments powered by Disqus