Bermuda Parliament 2012

Dec. 17, 2012, midnight

Bermuda held Parliamentary elections on Monday, December 17, 2012. 36 seats in the House of Assembly were at stake in this election, all of which are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies. Contesting the election were the Progressive Labor Party (PLP), the newly formed One Bermuda Alliance (OBA), and independent candidates. The OBA, formed by a merger of the United Bermuda Party and the Bermuda Democratic Alliance, participated in elections for the first time this year and won 19 seats (15,949 votes). The PLP, on the other hand, will hold only 17 seats in the new Parliament (14,218 votes), placing it in the opposition for the first time since 1998. Election Day turnout was 31,026, and a total of 71.08 percent of registered voters participated.

comments powered by Disqus