South Korea Presidential Election

Dec. 19, 2012, midnight

On December 19, 2012, citizens of South Korea voted to elect a new President, after the term of LEE Myung-bak expired. The main candidates were PARK Geun-hye of the New Frontier Party / Saienuri-dang, and MOON Jae-in of the Democratic United Party / Minju Tonghab dang. PARK Geun-hy, the daughter of former South Korean President PARK Chung-hee, won the election with 51.56 percent (15,773,128 votes) of the valid votes, while MOON Jae-in won only 48.02 percent (14,692,632 votes). The election saw a high turnout of 75.84 percent of the population. Once inaugurated, PARK Geun-hye will serve as South Korea’s first female President.

comments powered by Disqus