United States (November 6, 2012)

Nov. 6, 2012, midnight

United States (November 6, 2012)

Americans re-elected Barack OBAMA for a second presidential term on Tuesday, November 6.  Presidential candidates must win over 270 electoral votes to win the election. OBAMA (Dem.) defeated challenger Mitt ROMNEY (Rep.) with a total of 303 electoral votes, whereas ROMNEY lost with a total of 206 electoral votes. President OBAMA also won the national popular vote with 60,812,065 votes compared to ROMNEY’s 57,920 335. The President’s victory was announced after winning the state of Ohio, a major battleground state possessing 18 electors. Additionally, OBAMA won other significant swing states including Virginia, Wisconsin, Pennsylvania, and Nevada. 

Florida, the country’s largest swing state (29 electoral votes) was the last state to count all ballots, a process mildly reminiscent of the 2000 election.  Delays in a few of Florida’s counties in voting and ballot counting prevented official election results from emerging on time. The vast majority of ballots counted suggest that OBAMA won the state with 49.8 percent of votes, a narrow victory over ROMNEY’s 49.3 percent. Although ROMNEY has conceded defeat, OBAMA’s second term will not become official until every electoral precinct’s votes have been counted.  The President will not be inaugurated until all Electoral College votes are counted by the 113th Congress in a joint session, which then declares the winner of the election.

Legislative elections were also held the same day, with 33 seats Senate and the 435-seat House of Representatives at stake. The Senate has a total of 100 seats, and 33 were up for election on November 6. The Democrats had 21 seats up for election, whereas the Republicans had 10. Prior to the election, the Democrats occupied a 51 seat majority. On Tuesday the party won two more seats, increasing their Senate majority to 53 seats. Two independent candidates elected in Vermont and Maine are expected to caucus with the Democrats.  Republicans were able to capture a 234-seat majority in the House of Representatives. The 113th Congress will open session on January 3, 2013.

comments powered by Disqus