Lithuania (October 14, 2012)

Oct. 19, 2012, midnight

Lithuanians elected members to the country’s 141-member Parliament (Seimas) on October 14th. The republic’s Central Electoral Commission has released preliminary results for the multimember districts. They show the Labour Party winning with 17 seats, the Lithuanian Social Democratic Party (LSDP) gaining 15, and the Homeland Union – Lithuanian Christian Democrats following with 13. The Republic of Lithuania’s electoral system consists of 71 single member districts and 70 multimember districts.  Representatives are elected by a plurality system in single member districts, and by an open-list proportional system in multimember districts. Therefore single member district results will depend on a majority runoff on October 28, 2012. 

comments powered by Disqus