Montenegro (October 14, 2012)

Oct. 19, 2012, midnight

Montenegro’s ruling coalition stood its ground in the October 14th parliamentary election, retaining power. Preliminary results, released by the electoral commission, suggest Prime Minister Milo DJUKANOVIC’s European Montenegro Coalition winning with 39 out of 81 parliamentary seats or 46 percent of the vote.  The main opposition group, Milodrag LEKIC’s Democratic Front (DF) came in second with 20 parliamentary seats (23 percent of the vote), followed by the pro-Serb Socialist People’s Party with 9 seats (11 percent of the vote). This was Montenegro’s third election since gaining independence from Serbia in 2006.  

comments powered by Disqus