Somalia (Sept 10, 2010)

Sept. 14, 2012, midnight

Somali MPs elected the country’s first president after a prolonged and tumultuous transitional period. Politically moderate Hassan Sheikh Mohamud won the election on Monday, earning 190 votes in a runoff against incumbent leader Sharif Sheikh Ahmed, earning only 79. The induction of all MPs into the 275-member parliament is still pending but the number of MPs who voted exceeded the minimum requirement established by the Transitional Federal Government (TFG), 202 people. MPs cast secret ballots after considering twenty-four candidates. In a three round system, two out of four candidates who made it to the second round dropped out. By round three the winner was defined by a simple majority.

comments powered by Disqus