Australians in Northern Territory Vote in Local Elections

Aug. 25, 2012, midnight

On Saturday, August 25, residents of the Northern Territory in Australia voted in a general election to elect members of the Territory’s Legislative Assembly. The Country Liberal Party (CLP) won overwhelmingly, winning at least 14 of the 25 seats, and could win another two depending on final vote counts. The Northern Territory had been ruled by the Labor Party for the last eleven years, and only garnered eight seats in the election. The leader of the CLP, Terry MILLS, focused his candidacy on working for all Territorians, including those residing south of the Berrimah Line, who had received little government assistance in recent years.

comments powered by Disqus