Congo (Brazzaville) 2012 Parliamentary Elections

July 15, 2012, midnight

President Denis SASSOU-NGUESSO’s Congolese Labour Party (PCT) remained dominant in Parliament, winning 57 of the 69 seats that were won outright on July 15. Another ten seats that were won outright were won by parties allied with the PCT. Of the two remaining seats won in the first round, one went to the opposition Panafrican Union for Social Democracy (UPADS), while another went to an independent candidate. In total, more than 1,200 candidates, including 124 women, are competing for 135 seats in the National Assembly. The second round of voting, which will determine the remaining 66 seats, will take place on July 29.

comments powered by Disqus