Timor-Leste Votes in Parliamentary Elections

July 8, 2012, midnight

Elections in Timor-Leste on Sunday left a parliament where no party has an absolute majority. The ruling National Council of Timorese Resistance (CNRT) party of Prime Minister Xanana Gusmao finished in first place with 37%, but will need to form a coalition if it wishes to control parliament. The opposition Fretilin party captured 30 percent of the vote while the Democratic Party won ten percent. Official results are scheduled to be released on 17 July.

comments powered by Disqus