Marshall Islands hold presidential elections

Jan. 3, 2012, midnight

The Marshall Islands parliament on Tuesday elected Christopher LOEAK as its sixth president. ending the two-year reign of Jurelang Zedkaia. LOEAK was elected by 21 votes to 11, defeating incumbent Jurelang ZEDKAIA. Presidents in the Marshall Islands are indirectly elected by by the 33-member Nitijela.

comments powered by Disqus