Guyana holds presidential elections

Nov. 28, 2011, midnight

Voters in Guyana on Monday went to the polls to elect a president and the 65-member parliament. Final results have not been released, but initial counts suggest a victory for Donald RAMOTAR, of the ruling People's Progressive Party (PPP). The PPP, which held 36 seats in the last parliament, has been in power for nearly two decades. Current president Bharrat JAGDEO, also of the PPP, is term-limited.

comments powered by Disqus