Sao Tome and Principe elect new president

Aug. 7, 2011, midnight

Voters in Sao Tome and Principe on Sunday elected their former independence-era leader as president. Manuel Pinto da COSTA, who ruled the country for the first 15 years of the country's 1975 independence, defeated House Speaker Evaristo de CARVALHO. CARVALHO, a former prime minister, was the candidate of the Independent Democratic Action (ADI) party, which won last year's parliamentary election.

comments powered by Disqus