French Polynesia

Overseas Lands of French Polynesia

280,026 2

Population (as of May 20, 2015)

Elections in our database

191,799 69.07%

Registered Voters (as of May 1, 2013)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Assembly of French Polynesia Assemblée de la Polynésie Française Assembly
President President Head of State
President President Head of Government

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Francois HOLLANDE *
  • Head of Government: President Edouard FRITCH (since 12 September 2014) **
  • Assembly: French Polynesia has a unicameral Assembly of French Polynesia (Assemblée de la Polynésie Française) with 57 seats.

* Represented by the High Commissioner of the Republic Lionel BEFFRE.

** The president of the territorial government and the president of the Territorial Assembly are elected by the members of the assembly for five-year terms with no term limits.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term.
  • President is elected by parliament.
  • In the Assembly of French Polynesia (Assemblée de la Polynésie Française) 57 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms.***

*** There are 6 electoral districts with magnitudes ranging from 3 to 37.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Assembly of French Polynesia 2013-04-21 129,389 195,835 66.07%
Assembly of French Polynesia 2013-05-05 138,202 191,799 72.06%

Voter Turnout