Equatorial Guinea

Republic of Equatorial Guinea

704,001 2

Population (as of July 1, 2013)

Elections in our database

292,585 nan%

Registered Voters (as of Jan. 1, 2009)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government
President President Head of State
Senate Senado Upper House
House of People's Representatives Camara de Representantes del Pueblo Lower House

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Teodoro OBIANG Nguema Mbasogo *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Vicente Ehate TOMI
  • Assembly: Equatorial Guinea has a bicameral National Assembly (Asemblea Nacional) consisting of the Senate (Senado) with 70 seats and the House of People's Representatives (Camara de Representantes del Pueblo) with 100 seats.

* OBIANG Nguema Mbasogo became president after seizing power in a military coup.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote to serve a 7-year term.
  • Prime Minister is appointed by the president.
  • In the Senate (Senado), 55 members are elected by plurality vote to serve 5-year terms and 15 members are appointed by the President to serve 5-year terms*. In the House of People's Representatives (Camara de Representantes del Pueblo) 100 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms.

* The May 26, 2013 election establishes the Senate. Previously, Equatorial Guinea had a unicameral system.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Senate 2013-05-26 - 292,585 -
House of People's Representatives 2013-05-26 - 292,585 -

Voter Turnout