Commonwealth of Dominica

73,449 2

Population (as of May 19, 2015)

Elections in our database

72,484 57.79%

Registered Voters (as of Dec. 17, 2014)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government
President President Head of State
House of Assembly Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Charles A. SAVARIN (since 2 October 2013)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Roosevelt SKERRIT
  • Assembly: Dominica has a unicameral House of Assembly with 32 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by parliament to serve a 5-year term.
  • Prime Minister is appointed by the President to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the House of Assembly, 9 members are appointed by parliament to serve 5-year terms, 21 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms, 2 members are filled by the chief executive to serve 5-year terms and [[uh.4.seats]] members are [[uh.4.electedby]] [[uh.4.election_type]] to serve [[uh.4.term]]-year terms.***

*** Parliament's 21 elected members decide each term whether they will elect the 9 Senators or allow the President to appoint them. If the President appoints them, 5 are appointed in consultation with the Prime Minister and 4 in consultation with the leader of the opposition. The Speaker of the House and the Clerk of the House serve ex-officio.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
House of Assembly 2005-05-05 38,935 65,936 59.05%
House of Assembly 2014-12-08 40,974 72,484 56.53%

Voter Turnout