South Sudan

Republic of South Sudan

11,562,695 2

Population (as of June 1, 2015)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
President President Head of Government
National Legislative Assembly Al-Majlis Al-Tachirii Lower House
President President Head of State
Council of States Al-Watani Upper House
Parliament Assembly
President Head of Government

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Salva KIIR Mayardit
  • Head of Government: President Salva KIIR Mayardit
  • Assembly: South Sudan has a bicameral National Legislature consisting of the Council of States (Al-Watani) with 50 seats and the National Legislative Assembly (Al-Majlis Al-Tachirii) with 332 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by direct popular vote to serve a 4-year term.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Parliament 2018-07-09 - - -
President 2018-07-09 - - -

Voter Turnout