Saint Lucia

Saint Lucia

163,362 4

Population (as of June 1, 2015)

Elections in our database

161,883 54.85%

Registered Voters (as of June 8, 2016)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Senate Upper House
Queen Queen Head of State
House of Representatives Lower House
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Kenny Davis ANTHONY
  • Assembly: Saint Lucia has a bicameral Parliament consisting of the Senate with 11 seats and the House of Representatives with 17 seats.

* The Queen is represented by Governor General Dame Pearlette LOUISY.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is the hereditary head of state.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the governor-general.
  • In the Senate 11 members are appointed to serve 5-year terms*. In the House of Representatives 17 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.

* In the Senate, 11 members are appointed to serve 5-year terms (6 on the advice of the prime minister, 3 on the advice of the leader of the opposition, and 2 after consultation with religious, economic, and social groups).

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
House of Representatives 2001-12-03 62,805 119,100 52.73%
House of Representatives 2006-12-11 77,487 132,545 58.46%
House of Representatives 2011-11-28 85,035 151,466 56.14%
Parliament 2016-06-06 84,302 161,883 52.08%

Voter Turnout