Republic of Namibia

2,182,852 6

Population (as of July 1, 2013)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
National Assembly Lower House
President President Head of State
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government
National Council Upper House

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Hifikepunye POHAMBA
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Hage GEINGOB
  • Assembly: Namibia has a bicameral Parliament consisting of the National Council with 26 seats and the National Assembly with 72 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the National Council 26 members are elected by indirect vote to serve 6-year terms*. In the National Assembly, 72 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms and 6 members are appointed head of government.**

* Two members are chosen from each of the 13 regional councils by members of those councils.

** There are 13 multi-member constituencies corresponding to Namibia's regions. The President may appoint up to 6 additional, non-voting members.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
National Assembly 2004-11-15 831,883 984,587 84.49%
President 2004-11-15 835,980 984,587 84.91%
National Assembly 2009-11-27 811,143 984,587 82.38%
President 2009-11-27 824,596 - -
President 2014-11-28 - - -
National Assembly 2014-11-28 - - -

Voter Turnout