Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan

7,930,491 5

Population (as of May 20, 2015)

Elections in our database

4,139,612 50.86%

Registered Voters (as of Oct. 3, 2016)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Senate Majlis al-Ayan Upper House
King King Head of State
House of Deputies Majlis al-Nuwaab Lower House
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: King ABDALLAH II bin Al Hussein
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Abdullah Al-NSOUR
  • Assembly: Jordan has a bicameral National Assembly (Majlis al-Umma) consisting of the Senate (Majlis al-Ayan) with 55 seats and the Chamber of Deputies (Majlis al-Nuwaab) with 150 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The King is hereditary head of state.
  • Prime Minister is appointed by the monarch.
  • In the Senate (Majlis al-Ayan) 55 members are appointed by the monarch to serve 4-year terms*. In the Chamber of Deputies (Majlis al-Nuwaab) 150 members are elected by a mixed system to serve 4-year terms.**
  • Members must be former public officials or otherwise notable and at least 40 years of age. The King can appoint a number of senators up to half of the total number of seats in the Chamber of Deputies.

** There are 108 single member constituencies in 45 electoral zones. In June 2012, the parliament adopted a mixed electoral system allowing Jordanians to vote for a closed national list of 27 seats, in addition to the 108 single member constituencies (in 45 electoral zones). It also increased the women’s quota from 12 seats to 15 seats, with the three additional seats reserved for women from Bedouin areas. Additionally, 12 seats are reserved for Christian and Circassian candidates. 


Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
House of Deputies 2003-06-17 1,342,999 2,325,496 57.75%
House of Deputies 2007-11-20 - 2,455,686 -
House of Deputies 2010-11-09 1,256,100 2,370,000 53.0%
House of Deputies 2013-01-23 1,288,043 2,272,182 56.69%
Chamber of Deputies 2016-09-20 1,490,200 4,139,612 36.0%

Voter Turnout