Antigua and Barbuda

Antigua and Barbuda

91,295 4

Population (as of May 18, 2015)

Elections in our database

47,721 81.33%

Registered Voters (as of July 29, 2014)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
House of Representatives Lower House
Queen Queen Head of State
Senate Upper House
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Gaston BROWNE (since 2014)
  • Assembly: Antigua and Barbuda has a bicameral Parliament consisting of the Senate with 17 seats and the House of Representatives with 19 seats.

* The Queen is represented by Governor-General Louisse LAKE-TACK.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary N/A.
  • Prime Minister is appointed by the governor-general.
  • In the Senate 17 members are appointed by the governor-general to serve 5-year terms. In the House of Representatives, 17 members are elected by simple majority vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 2 members are designated ex officio.**

** Of the two ex officio members, one serves as the Speaker of Parliament.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
House of Representatives 1999-03-09 33,318 52,385 63.6%
House of Representatives 2004-03-23 39,627 43,459 91.18%
House of Representatives 2009-03-12 41,886 52,183 80.27%
House of Representatives 2014-06-12 43,077 47,721 90.27%

Voter Turnout